Musings From MommyLand

Because sometimes there is more to Mommy…

A Beautiful Fall Dessert: Apple Pie Cake

on October 25, 2012

About a month ago I was looking for some new recipes for side dishes and deserts to go with Jay’s smoking (meats people!  Smoking meats!) obsession and I came across what people were calling apple dump cake.  I read about 3 lines into the recipe and realized that this was almost the exact same recipe I use for what is a family Thanksgiving tradition called pumpkin pie cake.

So, I did what I usually do and stopped reading the recipe and decided I could figure it out on my own and while it doesn’t always turn out right when I do this, this time was a big win.  And I have to say, I am glad I didn’t follow the recipe because when I went back to it, I saw that it had called for canned apple pie filling while I used fresh apples and if you decide to give this a try, you should definitely go fresh as well.

What you need:

  • 10-12 fresh apples (I used Gala because they are my favorite flavor-wise) peeled, cored and sliced sort of thin.
  • 2 sticks of butter (no you didn’t misread that.  I said 2.)
  • 1 1/2 Tablespoons of ground cinnamon
  • 1/2-1 cup of brown sugar (just taste while they are cooking on the stove to get them how sweet you want)
  • 1 box of yellow cake mix

Pretty simple ingredient list.

First, when you slice the apples, you don’t want them too thin.  You want them thick enough to hold up against the heat, but not so thick that they will stay crunchy.

When your apples are all prepped, put them into a large saute pan with about 3/4 of one of the sticks of butter.  Also add the sugar and the cinnamon to this mix.

Cook the apples on a high heat for a few minutes until they begin to soften up.  Don’t cook these for too long though.  They should still have some firmness to them because they will cook more in the oven.

After the apples have cooked on top of the stove, put them into a greased 9×13 baking dish.  On top of this, spread the dry yellow cake mix.  This may seem weird but, just take the dry mix and evenly spread it on top of the apples.  Take the remaining stick and a quarter of butter and melt in the microwave and then drizzle all over the top of the cake mix.  The butter won’t cover every little bit of the cake mix, but that is okay.  Sprinkle the top of this with a little more cinnamon and you are ready for the oven.

Ready for the oven!

Place the pie/cake in the oven and bake at 350 degrees for 45 minutes to 1 hour — until the crust is a nice deep golden brown that has a little crunch to it.

Serve with fresh whip cream or vanilla ice cream.

Enjoy!

2 responses to “A Beautiful Fall Dessert: Apple Pie Cake

  1. This looks amazing, talk about delicious! I like the fact that this is a recipe that I, a more amateur baker, can make. Thank you for sharing this, I am thinking about bringing this to Thanksgiving.

    • Katie says:

      Thank you! It definitely isn’t hard to make. I am no baker either. I need to be able to randomly throw a dash of this or that in which is sort of frowned upon in baking. I think that this would be great at Thanksgiving. I make a variation of this using pumpkin puree instead of apple and that is what we usually make for Thanksgiving. Good luck and let me know how it turns out!

Leave a Reply

