Musings From MommyLand

Because sometimes there is more to Mommy…

Peg People…Creative Play, No Batteries Required!

on September 22, 2012

A Knight and Princess that go great with the castle.

I can’t even remember where exactly I first came across the idea of painted peg people, but after I saw it, I knew I really wanted to give it a try.  And oh my goodness, I have fallen in love with this hobby for so many reasons.  The first is that with it, I can find a zen sort of moment.  This is rare and pretty exciting all by itself.  When I finally get Little down for a nap and the boy child is settled in for some quite time, I can sit down and sort of just lose myself in painting those tiny little people.  Another reason I really like the painted pegs is that it makes a great activity for the kids.  I was babysitting my cousins a couple of months ago (they are closer to my kids ages than to me) and as something to do, I let them paint a couple of peg people themselves.  It is so cool to see their little imaginations at work and they are so proud of what they come bring to life.  Little isn’t quite big enough to paint yet, but Noodle LOVES painting them.  You can’t ever quite tell what he is making until he tells you, but he has such a good time doing it.

This is the Ninjago set I made for Noodle with the extras he painted in the front. He painted an extra Garmadon and Pythor to add to the set.

And the final — and probably number one — reason I have become obsessed with these little guys, is that they really inspire creative play with no electronics involved.  I am not totally anti-electronic or anything…my husband is an IT manager and we have 4 computers in our house so technology is a big part of our lives.  But with all the technology surrounding the kids, I really like to also make sure they have toys around them that don’t require batteries and inspire the use of their imaginations.  And these small little wooden people seem to do that in spades.

All you really need for this project are some paints, paint brushes (the smaller the tip, the better), clear spray sealer, a black fine tip sharpie marker and the little wooden peg people.  I found the standard man size pegs at Hobby Lobby, but you can also find lots of different sizes and shapes at Woodworks Ltd.  It is really easy to buy from them and they shipped so fast.

Just decide what kind of character you want to make and then go to it.  Having a picture is helpful and the best advice I can give is to keep the details simple.  Find that one thing that makes your character recognizable and simplify everything else.  It doesn’t have to be an exact match.  The Sharpie is great for outlining and details.  Once they are painted take them out to a well ventilated area and spray with a couple coats of the spray sealer.  Let them dry at least overnight and they should be ready for play the next day!

DC comic superheroes.

I have actually fallen in love with painting these guys and I decided I needed an outlet for them so that I don’t have hundreds covering my floors  So, I have started listing them on Etsy.  I am pretty excited about this and can’t wait to share with other people.

My new Etsy shop.

My “Women of History” set up in the shop

I got a little carried away when I first started and made a set for Noodle and Little and for my niece and nephew too.  If you are feeling really ambitious, you can always go for carrying cases for the peg people too.  Hobby Lobby has a great selection of unfinished wood boxes and cases and Michael’s craft stores has an unfinished wooden castle that makes an amazing little doll house for boys or girls or in my case, both.

From the Ninjago cartoon. I painted a small wooden suitcase with different scenes so Noodle can use it as both a carrying case and as a backdrop for his play.

The set of princesses in a wooden book that I made for my niece.

The princesses and the box I made for Little

The Avenger’s set I made for my nephew.

The outside of the castle I painted for my kiddos. I loved painting this for them and it is so handy for traveling because it just closes up and you can store all the peg people inside.

Well I probably put too many pictures up, but I hope you were inspired and if you are feeling like something like this is out of your realm feel free to jump over and visit Peg Crazy, my Etsy shop.

Happy Crafting!

One response to “Peg People…Creative Play, No Batteries Required!

  1. […] First Etsy Sale! by Katie on October 15, 2012 A couple of weeks ago I put up a post about painting peg people and how I had enjoyed doing this so much that I was going to try and sell some of them on Etsy. […]

Leave a Reply

