Musings From MommyLand

Because sometimes there is more to Mommy…

Craft Time: Melted Crayon Art

on September 13, 2012

Melted crayon art seems to have become quite popular recently and I have to say that I was eager to join the crowd trying it out.  They are so colorful and pretty and I wanted to try it out with my own spin.  I decided that this would be a good activity to do with “Noodle” and my niece and nephew while we visiting West Virginia this past June.  I am happy with the results, though if I do it again, there are definitely a couple of things that I would change.   The kids were excited about helping with the projects and even more so about seeing something they had created hanging on the wall as artwork so this project was definitely worth it.

All three of the kids’ projects lined up next to each other.

What you need:

  • Canvas (if you are going this with kids I would recommend smaller sizes)
  • 3-4 boxes of crayons (now is the time to stock up with back to school deals going on)
  • Decorations ( fake flowers, hotwheels, plastic dinosaurs, etc…)
  • Glue Gun
  • Hair Dryer or heat gun

First, sort your crayons by color.  This just makes it easier to put together your crayon row…especially if you are doing this with kids.  I made the kids sort the colors and they actually made their own little game of it.

Pick out your colors and then hot glue them all the same direction on the canvas.  I recommend you leave about a crayon’s width of blank canvas on each side of the crayon line otherwise the wax will run over the edges of the canvas.

Next use your hair dryer or heat gun to slowly heat up the crayons until they start melting down the canvas.  Here is my biggest tip…Use a heat gun if you have one.  After doing this and making a pretty big splattery mess, I can safely say that you need the heat without the air.  If your hairdryer has a hotter low setting, you may be okay.  The one I was using…well lets just say it would have taken me days if I had only been using the low setting.  If you are using a hair dryer, make sure you have paper or plastic down for wax splatters.

After you are satisfied with your meltings, set it aside and let it cool completely.  After the wax is hardened and dry, use your hot glue gun to add any additional decorations you may have.  I took the kids to the dollar store before we started and let them each pick out something small to use  on their canvases.  We ended up with fake flowers, plastic dinosaurs, and little race cars.

This is Noodle’s masterpiece with the cars racing each other.

This is my niece’s creation.

And finally, my nephew who went with dinosaurs.

I love the end result and had a blast helping the kids show their creative side.

Happy Creating!

3 responses to “Craft Time: Melted Crayon Art

  1. Ochakov says:

    Классная идея, очень интересно!

  2. Elizabeth says:

    Neat! Thanks for sharing.

Leave a Reply

