Musings From MommyLand

Because sometimes there is more to Mommy…

Paula Deen for the Win: Blueberry Lime Tiramisu

on August 8, 2012

If there is one thing I know, Paula Deen can do dessert.  I happened across this recipe last summer and after the first time I made it, I knew that it was a keeper.    This is a light, easy summer dessert that people love.

I stay pretty true to the recipe though I do add some fresh blueberries and sometimes I cut the mascarpone amount in half if I want something a bit fluffier.

Ingredients:

  • 1 pint heavy whipping cream
  • 1/4 cup confectioners’ sugar
  • 1 pound mascarpone cheese, at room temperature (sometimes I only use 8 ounces if I want it fluffier)
  • 3 (3-ounce) packages unfilled ladyfingers
  • 1 (6-ounce) can frozen limeade concentrate, thawed
  • 1 (21-ounce) can blueberry pie filling (I would get 2 cans)
  • 1 small package of fresh blueberries (my addition)
  • Fresh mint leaves, optional

First, beat the cream with a mixer at medium speed until thickened.  Stand mixers are the best for this.  You can just set it and let it go while you start on the next step.  Gradually add confectioners’ sugar, beating until soft peaks form. Don’t over beat or you will start getting into the realm of butter.

Next, it is time to add the mascarpone cheese.  Two things about this.  Make sure that the mascarpone is at room temperature and also before you add it to the whip cream, stir it in its container to get it smooth and a little more liquidy.  These two steps help the mascarpone get smoothly incorporated into the whip cream rather than ending up with little chunks of the cheese in there.  Mascarpone is a bit like cream cheese but a little more savory and tangy.  I have never tried to substitute cream cheese but I imagine you probably could.  The only thing I would worry about is it making it too sweet.  If you try it with cream cheese, let me know how it turned out.

Set the cream mixture aside and then split the ladyfingers in half. Line a 13 by 9 by 2-inch baking dish with ladyfingers, cut side up. Brush ladyfingers with limeade concentrate.  How much you brush on depends on who much lime flavor you like.  I go a little heavier though my husband likes it when I use less.  It is sort of a preference thing.  I will say this.  Don’t go way overboard.  This stuff is sweet and concentrated and can quickly overpower.

I made a smaller pan this last time. All you need is 2 packages of lady fingers if you want a little less.

Finally, spoon half of cheese mixture over ladyfingers. Top with half of blueberry pie filling.

This time I tried the blueberry pie filling layer first then the cream mixture and it made it a little easier. It takes some patience and skill to smooth the pie filling over the whip cream mix.

 Repeat procedure for the next layer with remaining ladyfingers, limeade, cheese mixture, and pie filling.

Fresh blueberries in the middle!

This is where I add my own touch.  I cover the top with fresh blueberries and if I bought a big enough package I will add some to the first layer as well.

Cover and chill 8 hours. You can serve this sooner, but the time really is nice because it lets all the flavors mingle.  Garnish with fresh mint, if desired.

It wasn’t the prettiest slice, but it was tasty!

Happy Cooking!

Leave a Reply

