Musings From MommyLand

Because sometimes there is more to Mommy…

RITA Reading Challenge Update

on July 28, 2012

Well, I am finally ready for an update on my RITA reading challenge and none too soon considering the annual RWA conference is well under way and the awards being given out…well tonight.  The bad news is, I only managed to finish all the books in one category. The good news, I managed to finish all the books in one category!  What can I say, life happens and sadly-so sadly- reading does not make it to the top of my list as much as I would like.

The category that I did manage to make it through was Regency Historical Romance.   And, if there was one I wanted to get through it was this.  It probably isn’t a shocker that historical is my sub-genre of choice and while I enjoy any historical romance, the ones set in Regency England are the ones that really pique my interest. They are a nice escape from reality every once in a while.  

I know that I don’t have the time to do each of these books justice with a review here, but I have linked each book to its Goodreads page where you can find some amazing reviews and I have also linked the authors names to their websites so you can visit there and find out more information about them and the other books they have written.

And the finalists are…

The Devil in Disguise by Stephanie Sloane (also nominated for best first book),  Heiress in Love by Christina Brooke,   How to Marry a Duke (another book also nominated for best first book) by Vicky Dreiling,  How to Seduce a Scoundrel also by Vicky Dreiling, Lady Sophie’s Christmas Wish by Grace Burrowes, A Night to Surrender by Tessa Dare, To Seduce an Angel by Kate Moore, and finally When Beauty Tamed the Beast by Eloisa James.

I should start by saying that I enjoyed all of these books and can’t say that I would be upset by any of these being chosen as a winner.  That being said, of the nominations, my favorite in this category had to be Vicky Dreiling’s How to Marry a Duke.  This book is also nominated in the Best First Book category where I can imagine it also has a good shot to win.  The book was fun, witty and of all the nominations this one made me want to read the next book by this author more than any of the others.  This book was sort of a take on the Bachelor television series and while you know in your head just how implausible this would have been during the real regency time period, it is so well written and fun that you can just look past that aspect.  Luckily, I actually got to read the next book in the series as it was also nominated in this category.  I thoroughly enjoyed this book as well and look forward to reading the next and final book in this trilogy.

So the main goal of this exercise was to find some new authors to read and I definitely did that.  I will be returning to several if not all of these authors in the future.  I can’t wait to see which one takes home the RITA and will be sure to post an update once the winners are announced tonight.

Happy Reading!

Leave a Reply

