Musings From MommyLand

Because sometimes there is more to Mommy…

Magnet Play in the Car

on May 11, 2012

While looking for ideas for our upcoming trip, I found several regarding magnet activities and sort of became obsessed with them.  I think that there are some ideas out there that are even better than mine, but I am happy with what I put together and both kids seem to enjoy what we came up with.

What you need:

  • Cookie Sheet (can find these at the dollar store for pretty cheap)
  • Stickers (larger in size)
  • Card stock
  • Self laminating sheets
  • Magnet roll with adhesive on one side
  • Mini craft sticks
  • Paint and paintbrushes

I sort of took the easy way out and just used stickers to make magnets rather than printing anything or getting too elaborate.  To start, all I did was put the stickers on the card stock and then cut closely around them.  The card stock adds extra stability.

After I had them all cut out this way I used two self laminating sheets to encase the stickers and then cut out around this.  It is sort of a time consuming process but it was the best way I found to do it.

I also painted some mini craft sticks to use building shapes or whatever else the kids can think of.  The come in handy to use with the Angry Birds magnets.

Finally, just cut the magnets into small pieces and adhere them to the back of the laminated stickers and craft sticks.

Each set of stickers got put into its own baggie and then they were all thrown into a gallon size one so they are in one place.

I also grabbed some magnetic alphabet letters from the dollar store to help The Boy Child with his ABC’s.  He was particularly enjoying these.

I had planned to make background sheets as scenes to go with the magnets, but I found that A.) My magnets weren’t strong enough when a laminated piece of paper was placed between it and the cookie sheet and B.) there just didn’t seem to be enough time to figure it out.  So I scrapped the idea.  And now that I am finished and have let the kids test them out.  I am kind of glad I didn’t put the time into backgrounds because I think they would have turned out to be unnecessary.

NOTE:  Make sure to keep any electronic devices that don’t play well with magnets far away when you decide to pull these out.  They may not be very strong magnets, but you don’t want to risk ruining any pricey electronics.

Here are some of the other magnet ideas I have come across.  Also, my Pinterest board of Road Trip Activities has lots of ideas.

How to make your own travel magnetic board games from the blog Thrive

Dollar store magnetic car activities from Ladybird Lane

Magnetic Puzzles  and magnetic crayons from My Kind of Makeover

Here is a how to for Mini magnetic games in an Altoids tin

One response to “Magnet Play in the Car

  1. We’re also about to take a long trip, so I will definitely be using some of your ideas. Thanks.

Leave a Reply

