Musings From MommyLand

Because sometimes there is more to Mommy…

Hectic Vacation Preparation

on May 4, 2012

This past week has been quite hectic, hence the lack of posts on my part.  Towards the beginning of the week, it finally dawned on me that we are only two weeks away from our vacation and I hadn’t done one thing to prepare.  You may be saying, “two weeks, that’s plenty of time to get things ready” and you would be wrong.  When there are two small children, a two day drive to your destination, and a three week stay involved, there isn’t enough time in the world.

In two weeks time, we will be making our annual pilgrimage from Colorado to West Virginia to spend some much needed quality time with my family.  This year is even more special, because my little brother is graduating from high school and I am so happy that we are getting out there to celebrate such a big moment with him.

As excited as I am, there is also a great deal of worrying that goes along with the planning (I am a worrier…my mother yells at me about it all the time).  This year we are driving instead of flying and while financially this is the best option for us, it can be a rough trip mentally, emotionally, and even physically.  If we were to drive straight through, it would take 23 hours.  We choose to make the trip in two days stopping about halfway to relax and get some sleep before finishing the trip.  No matter how you shake it though, this is a long trip especially for a three year old and a one year old.  So, among all the other planning — scheduling an oil change, making packing lists, cleaning the house, taking care of bills — I have been scouring the internet trying to find some fun road trip activities to help make the trek a little more bearable.  I have come up with some really great ideas (or what I hope will turn out to be great ideas once tested by the kids) and plan on sharing them next week.  So make sure to check back starting Sunday for some tips and activities for road trip fun with little ones.

Happy Travels!

Leave a Reply

