Musings From MommyLand

Because sometimes there is more to Mommy…

A Mexican Twist on Stuffed Peppers

on April 27, 2012

I enjoy stuffed peppers, but they certainly aren’t my favorite food.  However, my husband likes them a bit more than I, so I try to get them into the meal plan at least every couple of months.  This past week I had decided it was time to make them and when I told my husband he said that he had recently come across a recipe for mexican stuffed peppers.  I was intrigued.  I love mexican food and the chance to spice up something that I can usually take or leave got me a little excited.  I could have gone online and found a recipe to get me started…but I decided to sort of wing it instead and I have to say that I really enjoyed the results and will probably be adding these to the rotation a bit more often.

What You Need:

  • A mixture of 6-8 red, yellow, and orange bell peppers (I found a bag of little mini peppers at Sam’s for this and they really worked well.  I tried a couple of green bell peppers too, but the red, yellow, and orange had a much better flavor for this.)
  • 2 lbs. of hamburger
  • 2 boxes of Spanish rice ( I used Zatarains because it doesn’t have pasta in it)
  • 2 cans of Rotel
  • 2 small cans of diced green chiles
  • One bunch of fresh Cilantro roughly chopped (optional…we really like it but it would still be good without it as well)
  • 2-3 cups of shredded cheddar cheese (or your favorite Mexican cheese)
  • frozen corn (I didn’t think about adding this until too late, but I think a little bit in the hamburger mixture would be really good)
  • Salsa
  • Salt, pepper, and red pepper flakes

I just wanted to throw this out there early on.  This recipe makes a lot of hamburger mixture.  I think the small peppers threw off my normal calculations and I actually had enough leftover to make a Mexican meatloaf which I threw in the freezer for a future date.  If you didn’t want to make as much, I think that you could easily cut this recipe in half.

Ok, so start off by making your rice according to the directions on the package.  It is important to get this going early because it needs to cool off completely before you add it to the hamburger.

I spread my rice out on a large cutting board to let it cool off when it was done.

While the rice is cooking, cut the tops off of your peppers and remove the core and seeds.

Don't forget to take off the stickers like I apparently did. Don't worry I caught it before they went in the oven.

Next, in a large bowl, combine the hamburger, rice, green chiles, cilantro, about a cup of salsa, half of your cheese, and corn.  Also add salt, pepper, and red pepper flakes to taste.  Mix all of this together well, but make sure not to over-mix or it can get tough.

Place the hamburger mixture in the peppers until they are filled to the top.  Place the filled peppers standing upright in a glass baking dish to cook.

Once all the peppers are filled, pour a little salsa over each one, sprinkle the remaining cheese over them, and place the tops of the peppers back on.  If you have left over meat mixture you can make meatballs and place them in the baking dish among the filled peppers.

You may have noticed the lack of cheese on my peppers. I totally spaced it until after they were done cooking and then we just added on our plates. The cheese is definitely an important part of this dish so don't make my mistake.

Place in the oven and bake at 350 degrees for 60-75 minutes or until done (the small peppers only took about 45 mins to cook).

I served mine with a simple side salad and we had a very delicious meal.  I would also like to add that my kids loved these.  Now my kids aren’t super picky eaters, we have pretty much trained them to expand their palates, but it is still nice to find something that they both really enjoy and keeps them quietly eating for a few minutes.  I did keep these peppers a little milder for the kids, but you could definitely bump up the heat factor if you like.

Yummy!

Happy Cooking!!

Leave a Reply

