Musings From MommyLand

Because sometimes there is more to Mommy…

When Lilacs Last in the Dooryard Bloom’d

on April 21, 2012
A couple of days ago I went out in our backyard to push my kids on their swing-set and I got my first smell of lilacs of the season.  As the scent hit my nose I found myself closing my eyes for a moment and letting all the good memories that smell invokes wash over me.  I know…this sounds rather fanciful and like something that belongs in a book rather than something that happens in real life but, I swear it is true.  The smell of lilacs always brings to mind warm spring days spent at my grandparents house as a little kid.  My grandparents lived in an oasis of nature a midst a busy city and had more lilac bushes surrounding their house than I could even count.  It may be one of those things from your youth that you romanticize a bit in your head, but even if that is the case, I still enjoy it immensely.
I think that I can honestly say the scent of lilacs may be my favorite smell ever.  I even joked in my banana bread recipe post that if the love potion made in the 5th Harry Potter book were presented in front of me, I would smell lilacs and banana bread.
I thought I would also share this stanza from the Walt Whitman poem…the name of which I borrowed for my post title.  The stanza I share is the third and while the poem is quite long and quite deep, these lines are the ones that speak the most to me.
“In the dooryard fronting an old farm-house near the white-wash’d palings,
Stands the lilac-bush tall-growing with heart-shaped leaves of rich green,
With many a pointed blossom rising delicate, with the perfume strong I love,
With every leaf a miracle—and from this bush in the dooryard,
With delicate-color’d blossoms and heart-shaped leaves of rich green,
A sprig with its flower I break.”
So, what are your favorite smells?  I am curious to know.  And, since lilacs in bloom mean spring is upon us, let me take this opportunity to wish you all a Happy Spring!
Leave a Reply

