Musings From MommyLand

Because sometimes there is more to Mommy…

Recipe Time: Better Than Chipotle Chicken Burrito Bowls

on April 16, 2012

So perhaps I am being a bit big headed with the name of my recipe, but I truly believe that in many cases, you can take what you love from a restaurant and make it at home so that it tastes better and is better for you.  Does this always apply?  No, of course not…I will never be able to replicate the delicious gravy that goes over the mashed potatoes and chicken fried steak at one of our local restaurants, but when it comes to something a little more simple such as the Chipotle Burrito Bowl, I absolutely think that you can make a tasty version right in your own kitchen.

What You Need:

  • 2-3 chicken breasts cut into bite size pieces
  • Brown Rice
  • Juice of one lime
  • About half of a bunch of cilantro, roughly chopped.
  • 1-2 cans of black beans
  • 1 small can of diced green chiles
  • Shredded Monterrey Jack cheese

Possible Toppings

  • Lettuce
  • Tomato
  • Sour Cream
  • Salsa
  • Guacamole
  • Jalapenos
  • Green Onions
  • Fresh Cilantro (the remaining half bunch from your rice is perfect to sprinkle over the top)

This is a super easy recipe to make which is why I love it so much.  Besides being lower calorie, I can have dinner done and on the table in 20 minutes or less.

First, start browning the chicken in a skillet.  I season mine pretty basically with just some salt, pepper, and garlic powder.  Usually I have some fabulous green chile seasoning I use also, but I can only get it in Santa Fe when we visit my husband’s grandfather and unfortunately, we haven’t been down there recently so my stores are sadly depleted at the moment.

While the chicken is browning, get your brown rice going.  Just cook it according to the directions on the package.  If your rice takes more than15 minutes to cook, you may want to start it before you start the chicken.  I can’t be too helpful here, because I am still trying to figure out how to get brown rice cooked correctly.  You can also use white rice if you prefer.  When the rice is almost done, add the lime juice and cilantro.  Sometimes I use the juice of 2 limes depending on how much juice you get from one and how much of that flavor you like on you rice.  We love it so I use more.

Also while the chicken is browning and the rice is going, heat up your black beans.  I just take the canned black beans put them in a bowl add the can of green chiles to them and then put them in the microwave until they are hot.  You could do it in a pan on the stove as well.

Finally just sort of put everything in an assembly line and put your bowl together.  First rice, then beans, then chicken, then cheese, and then toppings.  If you are trying to keep this pretty low calorie, just remember that they sour cream, guacamole, and cheese can increase the number pretty quickly.  I have to have the cheese so I skip the sour cream and guacamole.   And then you have a delicious easy meal.

I like them in a bowl, but I did one on a plate also so you could see the layers.

Enjoy!

Leave a Reply

