Musings From MommyLand

Because sometimes there is more to Mommy…

My New Fitness Track

on March 12, 2012

So, I have definitely been avoiding posting about weight stuff because I was frustrated beyond measure with how things were going.  I was really trying to be good.  I was watching what I was eating and trying to do some sort of exercise…usually doing something on our Kinect, just to get my body going and yet, for the past couple weeks, I haven’t been losing weight.  I was just fluctuating within a five pound range.  Some days I was down a couple pounds and then back up…and on and on.  I am pretty sure this is why I fall off of diets so easily…I just wanted to scream.

Last week I made a suggestion to my husband that maybe we should take some of our tax return money and get a treadmill.  Something that I could get on and just mindlessly go.  I really wanted that mindless aspect.  He said I should look on craigslist because a lot of people put ones one there that are still in really good shape.  They buy them and then don’t use them and then try to unload them on craigslist.  He seemed to think that we could find a gently used one for a lot cheaper.  He was right.  There were a ton listed.  Finally after a couple days of looking and researching reviews on what we were finding, we ended up with an elliptical in very good condition and for about a third of the price we would have paid at a fitness store.  And thankfully, it wasn’t a serial killer who opened the door when we showed up.  Just a couple in their forties whose kids were getting ready to graduate and wanted some more room and a little extra cash.  And I have to say, I am definitely liking the elliptical better than I think I would have a treadmill.  It is lower impact and works your muscles a little harder.  I have been using our new elliptical for the past 3 days and I am feeling really good about where I am.

Besides the elliptical, my husband and I also joined the online weight-loss community at My Fitness Pal.  This is a place where you can talk to other people trying to lose weight and also keep track of the weight you are losing.  When you sign up for a free account, you are asked some basic questions and then the site tells you how many calories a day you should stay under in order to lose weight.  On this site, you can also keep track of your food and calories as well as your exercise.  Besides the website, you can also download a free app for your smartphone to help you keep track of everything.  Actually recording what I am eating and seeing how many calories a food is worth has been helpful and very eyeopening.  I have done a great deal of overhauling my normal meals in order to make them healthier.  If you are using this or decide you want to feel free to friend me.  My username is Ktemple55 so feel free to look me up and we can help each other along the way.  You may also have noticed the little ticker widget on the right hand side of my page as well.  A good way to keep me honest.

I am also loving the fact that my husband and I have finally gotten on the same page and are doing this together. Usually only one of us is motivated at a time…never together.  But let me tell you, it makes so much of a difference having him help and push me along the way.  I know that I am finally on the right track to really start losing the pounds and I am super excited to get going.  My new short term goal is to be down ten pounds by Easter (or maybe more).  So, I will check back in next Monday after a full week of being able to use the elliptical and keeping track of my food and see where we are then.

Leave a Reply

