Musings From MommyLand

Because sometimes there is more to Mommy…

St. Patrick’s Day Table Decoration: Leprechaun Spirits

on March 7, 2012

A while back I had seen a blog post where the person took min liquor bottles, relabeled them, and handed them out during a party.  I thought this was a cool idea, but decided to see if I could turn it into more of a decoration…and here is what I came up with.

Materials:

  • small glass bottles with corks
  • scrapbook paper
  • food coloring
  • glitter
  • water

This is a pretty easy project that only took me about half an hour to do.  First, I found 3 small glass bottles from my local craft store.  Note: two of these had flat sides, while one was rounded and while I liked the look of the rounded one a lot, it was a pain trying to glue the label on it.  you may want to stay away from the rounded ones.

Next, I printed the names for the labels of my bottles.  I had three bottles and came up with Essence of Emerald Isle, Elixir O’ Luck, and Leprechaun Spirits.  I just used my word program and kept the writing pretty small.  It took me a couple tries to get it the right size.  I also picked out some little clip art pictures to add to my labels.  Once I had every thing the size I wanted, I took some scrapbook paper and just helped make the labels more decorative.  After this, I glued the labels on the bottles and added a little ribbon just to give them another dimension.

Finally I added food coloring to water until I got the shades that I wanted and then poured these into the bottles.  Note:  I would definitely mix the water in a separate container because if you try to do it in the bottle there is a good chance water could be sloshed around and then ruin the labels you just made.  After I poured the water in the bottles, I add a little bit of glitter to a couple of them just for something extra.

I was pretty happy with how they turned out and once I finish the shamrock bouquet I am working on, that and these bottles will make a cute centerpiece.  Will add another picture when the centerpiece is finished.

Happy Crafting!

2 responses to “St. Patrick’s Day Table Decoration: Leprechaun Spirits

  1. […] the center of the runner, I put my Shamrock Bouquet, my Leprechaun Spirits, some chocolate gold coins, and some potatoes.  And then I was […]

  2. Hi there, this is my first time to visit your blog and this post caught my attention. You’re so cool! I dont suppose I’ve learn anything like this before. So good to seek out any individual with some unique ideas on this subject. I’ll try this idea. Thanks!

    Spandex Chair Covers

Leave a Reply

