Musings From MommyLand

Because sometimes there is more to Mommy…

Recycled Crayons with a St. Patrick’s Day Twist

on March 4, 2012

I had seen the re-purposing of old crayons into new floating around on the internet for a while, but it hadn’t really ever made it to the top of my crafts-to-do list.  However, when I was in my local Hobby Lobby the other day, I came across a shamrock silicone mold ON SALE and decided it was time to give it a try.  Let me tell you this was super easy.  All you need is a silicone mold and all those broken or restaurant crayons you have lying around the house.

First off, find that bag of old broken up crayons that you can’t seem to throw away because it seems wasteful.  Next sort the crayons by color and start peeling off the wrappers.  I sorted them so all shades of one color were in one pile.  I.e., all shades of blue together, all shades of green together, etc.., but you could do whatever you want.  Note:  I made the mistake of peeling wrappers as I went and then throwing the broken crayons into the mold.  I wish I had just peeled them all first and then broken them and put them in the mold.  Peeling is a pain in the butt…the boy child put in a valiant effort trying to help but after about 4 crayons, he had had enough…sadly it has to happen.

So after all of the crayons are peeled, start breaking up the larger pieces and putting them in the molds.  If you are using shades or different colors, make sure you get them mixed up well when putting the pieces in.  I had a mold with 6 shamrocks and for the first go around, I made three St. Patrick’s Day inspired crayons (shades of green with a couple of orange and white added) and then three single color (various shades) crayons.  My molds were pretty tall so I just filled them up about halfway.  You can do as much or as little as you like.

Set the mold on a cookie sheet and then place in a 250 degree oven for 13-15 minutes.  From what I understand, crayon wax can burn and smells terrible so keep an eye on them.  Once the crayon pieces are completely melted, remove the tray from the oven and let them cool COMPLETELY before you remove them from the molds.

Note:  Keep the tray as flat as possible when removing it from the oven…you don’t want crayon wax sloshing everywhere, plus you want to keep the natural shade differences of the crayons rather than mixing them all up.  Also, you will be tempted to try to pull the crayons out of the mold before they are completely cool…DON’T!  Have patience and give them a good 30 minutes to cool and then they will just pop right out.  One last thing, after you use the molds for crayons, I don’t think that you are going to want to use them again for baking, so make sure you are ready to let them go crayon making realm for good before you use them.

The Boy Child and Little have both been having fun using the new/old crayons.  We saved the green/orange/white ones to give as a favor to their cousins when we have my extended family over for dinner on St. Patrick’s Day.  I think that they are going to be a hit!

Happy Crafting!!

4 responses to “Recycled Crayons with a St. Patrick’s Day Twist

  1. This is a brilliant idea! I love it! Maybe my daughter will find other uses for her crayons other than drawing on my walls 🙂

    • Katie says:

      Ah yes, drawing on the walls. I think my son got over that just as my daughter is getting into it. I also like these crayons because now there are just a couple big ones to pick up rather than a million little pieces everywhere.

  2. I reblogged this on my site and my followers are loving it as much as I did! I look forward to more crafting ideas!

    • Katie says:

      I really appreciate the reblog. I am so glad that you enjoyed the post. I just rediscovered my crafty side and am looking forward to figuring out what to make next.

Leave a Reply

