Musings From MommyLand

Because sometimes there is more to Mommy…

An Unusual and Intriguing Lenten Challenge

on February 23, 2012

For the past couple of days I have been seriously lacking motivation and inspiration when it came to figuring out a new blog post.  I sat down several times and just stared at the blank post with the blinking cursor that seemed to be taunting me.  Today, I was determined to figure out something and so I started my morning as I usually do hoping that inspiration would come.  I got the kids up (we spent some time admiring our new Colorado snow), got them settled down with breakfast and then sat down with my laptop to peruse the usual suspects.  Facebook, email, Pinterest…  And this is where inspiration struck!

I came across this pin that said 40 bags in 40 days challenge.  Intriguing.  I went to the blog where the pin originated and when I saw the challenge, I knew it was just what I needed for my house as well as for a blog post.  I loved the idea so much, I wanted to share it with you.

The idea is that over the 40 days of lent you do some de-cluttering around your house and get rid of 40 bags of stuff.  Lent is traditionally a time when you give up something  and while this may not fit into the traditional sense of it, it is in a way giving up things and I am quite excited about the thought of this challenge.  It doesn’t matter if it is grocery bag size or trash bag size or a combination of both.  In the case of my home, some of it will be trash to be thrown out and some will be set aside for a yard sale (and what doesn’t sell gets immediately taken to the goodwill).  Today is the second day of Lent so I am already a day behind but, I think that I can catch up pretty easily.

Ok, so here is my list.  Feel free to use it as inspiration for your own.

Leave a Reply

