Musings From MommyLand

Because sometimes there is more to Mommy…

Recipe: Lasagna Soup

on February 12, 2012

I have recently discovered this magical place on the web called Pinterest.  This place is amazing.  It is bringing out my craftiness and giving me some wonderful new recipe ideas.  The only downside to this seems to be…good Lord I spend too much time on the internet now!

One of the first recipes I came across was for Lasagna Soup.  Really, lasagna soup?  First of all, let me say that I love soups!  While I thoroughly enjoy summer and all the fun it brings, a part of me loves when the weather finally starts to turn cold and I can finally whip up a batch of warm soup.  Given my love for this liquidy goodness, and have tried to turn many everyday meal ideas into soup…some successfully and some not so much.  And, even as adventurous as I am about trying new soups, This one seemed like a stretch to me.  Ricotta and mozzarella are staple for lasagna and I wasn’t exactly sure how that would translate.  Let me tell you it did!  This soup was definitely a hit in our house.  My one year especially loved it.

The recipe I took inspiration from came from here, though I made some fairly large alterations for our own tastes.

*Ingredients

  • 1 lb. of hamburger
  • Italian sausage (ground or links that have been sliced)
  • 1/2 a cup of finely chopped onion
  • 6-8 cups of chicken broth
  • 1 can tomato sauce
  • 1 large can petite diced tomatoes
  • 1 lb. box of some sort of curly pasta (I used Campanella)
  • 3-4 large handfuls of fresh spinach
  • Basil
  • Red pepper flakes
  • Salt
  • Pepper
  • Small container of ricotta cheese
  • Shredded mozzarella cheese
  • Dried parsley flakes

*Directions

  1. Brown the hamburger until cooked.  While this is cooking add some basil, red pepper flakes, salt, and pepper to taste.
  2. Now add the sausage and onion and let cook until onion starts to get soft and translucent.
  3. Add the broth, tomato sauce, and diced tomatoes to the pot.
  4. Let all of this simmer on the stove for 30-45 minutes so the flavors can marry.  During this time you can taste it to see if it is what you like, you can always add more tomato or broth to suit your tastes.
  5. After the flavors of the soup have had some time to combine, add your pasta.  Whole box makes a heartier soup so if you like more broth then I would say start with half or 3/4 of a box.  Let the pasta cook in the broth until it is tender.  During this time keep an eye on the soup and if the pasta is soaking up all your liquids don’t be afraid to add some water or more broth.
  6. While the pasta is cooking, start on the ricotta mix that will be added individually to each bowl of soup.  For this, combine a small container of ricotta, about a half of a cup of shredded mozzarella, about a Tbsp. of parsley flakes, and a couple of pinches of salt and pepper.  Set this aside
  7. When the pasta is just about done, add the spinach and let it wilt down.  This part is obviously optional.  I put spinach in my lasagna, so I put it in the soup too.
  8. Ladle soup into bowl and then add a dollop of the ricotta mix and top with a sprinkle more of mozzarella cheese.
  9. Serve with some crusty bread and ENJOY!!

TIPS:

  • I adapted this recipe to fit the tastes of my family so don’t be afraid to do the same for yours.
  • I don’t really measure anything…everything I do is to taste.  All the measurements I have here are estimates, so make sure that you taste all along the way and it is fitting what tastes good to you.
  • Don’t go overboard with the ricotta mix in your soup.  I learned the hard way that too much turns into a gooey glob that takes away from the taste of the soup.
Leave a Reply

