Musings From MommyLand

Because sometimes there is more to Mommy…

Recipe: 3 Bean Chili

on January 13, 2012

So I thought I would get things off and running with what I see as a large part of what I hope for this blog to share…a recipe!  I love cooking!  It was definitely one of those things that started at a young age.  Something that I remember vividly from my youth is that given the choice my sister would always choose to go clean something rather then help cook and I would always choose to help in the kitchen rather than clean anything.  This of course has come back to bite us as she has probably 5 meals in her cooking repertoire and I struggle daily with trying to keep the clutter under control in my house…but that is another story.  As I have developed my cooking skills over the course of my adult life, there have been times when someone has come to me and asked for the recipe for a dish I made.  I admit that the first time this happened I had to pause for a moment and there was a second where I thought maybe I shouldn’t give my recipe out.  What if they did the recipe better?  What if they took over my dish?  What if they gave it out to other people?  Then it wouldn’t be my special recipe anymore.  But, after that one second, it dawned on me that I am not a secret recipe kind of girl.  Food is a social experience and is made to be shared and I don’t think that the recipe is any different.  Maybe all I ask is that they don’t try to show me up with it and if they make it better, let me know so I too can adjust.

Anyways, I thought I would start off by adding a recipe I made a couple of days ago and which we will be enjoying again tonight for leftover night.  3 Bean Chili.  We aren’t a huge chili family and I probablly only make this recipe a couple of times over the course of a winter, but it is one that I am very happy with and one that can be altered to be spicier or milder fairly easily.

3 Bean Chili

*Ingredients*

  • 4-5 Cans Chili Beans
  • 2 Cans of Black Beans, drained
  • 2 Cans of kidney beans, drained
  • 2 cans of Rotel
  • 1 small can of diced green chiles
  • 1 can of tomato sauce
  • 1/2 to 1 can of beef stock
  • 1 lb. hamburger
  • 1/2 of a red onion, finely diced
  • 2 Jalapenos
  • salt
  • pepper
  • red pepper flakes
  • dried minced garlic
  • cayenne pepper
  • Montreal steak seasoning

*Directions*

  • Open all cans of beans, rotel, green chiles, and tomato sauce and after draining the liquid off the black beans and kidney beans, add everything to a large stock pot or crock pot.  If cooking on stove top, start with a medium heat and if using a crock pot, start on high setting.
  • Brown hamburger in separate pan adding salt, pepper, and Montreal steak seasoning to your taste and then add to chili.
  • Saute onions in a small amount of butter for a few minutes until soft and then add these to chili.
  • Seed and remove ribs from one of the the jalapenos and then finely dice.  Slice other jalapeno with seeds and ribs in tact.  Add to chili.
  • Add tomato sauce and half of a can of beef stock to the chili. (The other half of the can can be added if you like a soupier chili.)
  • Add red pepper flakes, minced garlic, cayenne, salt, and pepper to taste.
  • Let chili cook for about 20 mins. on medium high for stove top and about 2 hours on high setting for crock pot then reduce heat to low for both methods for remainder of cooking.  Stove top needs only about 30-45 mins. more cooking time (though can go for longer on low).  Crock pot needs 2 more hours on low though can go for several more.

**Notes and Tips**

  • This recipe will serve 6-8 people.
  • This was a fairly spicy chili.  Too spicy for the little kids, but my husband was adding more jalapenos and hot sauce on top.
  • You can cut the heat by removing one or more of the jalapenos, the red pepper flakes, and the cayenne.  Reversely, you can bump up the heat by adding more of any of the above ingredients.  Remember, the heat of the jalapeno lives in the seed and the ribs so use that knowledge when trying to figure out if you want something spicier or milder.
  • When I made this recipe in the crock pot, it filled my __qt pot to the brim so you may want to hold back a can or 2 of the chili beans until the end to make sure you don’t overflow.
  • I like to have shredded cheddar cheese, thinly sliced jalapenos, and chopped scallions out for people to top their chili.  I also like to serve with corn bread, warm tortillas and/or saltine crackers.

***Disclaimer***

I do not measure when I cook (the reason you will probably not see too many baking recipes on here) so when I list seasonings it is just how much is right for your palate.  Just remember to taste your cooking along the way and that you can always add more seasoning but, you cannot take it away so start slowly.

Please feel free to ask me any questions about the recipe or leave any comments on how your version turned out.

Bon Appetite!

Leave a Reply

