Musings From MommyLand

Because sometimes there is more to Mommy…

Greetings from Mommy Land!

on January 12, 2012

Hello and welcome to my little place in Mommy Land!  For those of you out there not familiar with Mommy Land, let me give you a little rundown of some of our most famous attractions.   The capital city is Crazy Town.  It is quite popular and I find myself a more frequent visitor than I would like to be.  One of the most popular tourist destinations is the island of lost pacifiers.  It is a bit hard to find, but I hear it is lovely in the summer.  And of course our most famous landmark, Mt. Never Ending Laundry.  I can attest to the wonder of this  mountain as I live in very close proximity to it.  It may not be the most  glamorous place to live, but I can honestly say that I wouldn’t live anywhere else.

My name is Katie and I am 29 years old (yikes, that is the first time I have said it out loud since it happened 2 weeks ago.  And for the record, it is in fact the first time I find myself at this age).  I became a resident of Mommy Land just over 3 years ago.  I was welcomed to motherhood with a rambunctious, now 3 year old — the boy child.  Two years later, we added our beautiful daughter “Little” to the family.  Rounding out our little family and navigating this new world with me is my wonderful husband Jay.  I might have already found myself committed to the local mental institution if it wasn’t for him.

Besides my status as Mommy and wife, I am also a historian, a genealogist,  a cook, a writer, a woman dealing with weight issues, and a great lover of books and reading.  Despite hearing experts on all kinds of television shows from every area telling me for the last three years that there is more to life than just mommy duties, I let myself forget just how much more there was until recently.  And that is where the impetus to start this blog came from.  As a stay at home mom from the beginning, it was so easy to lose track of what I did and enjoyed before babies.  There were diapers that needed changed, bottles that needed made, laundry that needed washed, and boo boos to be kissed.  Not much time for reading, or anything for that matter, in the midst of all that needed to be done, or more likely, no energy to expend on anything that seemed frivolous.

What I want to do with this blog is give myself a place to remember that laundry is not the only thing that deserves my attention.  My kids are and always will be my number one priority, but that doesn’t mean there isn’t time for other things I love too.  What I envision here is space to write about my musings on a little bit of everything that makes up my day and what I love.  Parenting ups and downs, book reviews, recipes and cooking tips, my journey to lose weight, and turning my love of history in a something that can help our family financially.

So for any women out there newly arrived in Mommy Land or longtime residents, this blog is for you…and me, so that we may all remember that there is more to us than the title of MOM and recognizing this fact doesn’t make us bad moms or love our kids any less.

Enjoy!!

Leave a Reply

